Life Like This.

I have live in this world for 19 years. Too many ups and downs in this short lifespan. Yes, I am part of the nation’s greatest patricians. My father is the famous Augustus, thus I got every single thing that I ever wanted. Except for one thing, the one thing that my pitiful soul is yearning; Freedom. Being a daughter of the greatest emperor does not allows me to do what my heart told me. I am like a bird in a golden cage. My eyes are free to roam wherever it please, but my body and soul stay still. Being a daughter to an emperor makes it much harder. Every single place I went with my whole group of nannies, I was never be free from others’ eyes. They will observed every single thing I did, and when I did something that they think was wrong, the next thing I knew I was called to meet father. Lucky me, father will never punish me for what I did wrong but I cannot stand his lecture. He would remind me of who I really am, over and over and over again. I can even memorize most of his lecture, or should I call it nagging.

In my entire life, I have only met one true friend. The one who always speaks the truth to me, the one who always listens to my inner thoughts, the one who always there for me; Antonia. She is one of my nannies, and she is only a year older than me. She is like a mother to me as we grew up together. She took care of me when my mother, Empress Livia Drusilla was extremely busy attending her everyday committee meeting with the Senates’ wives. She is the one stays with me day and night when my dearest husband died a year ago.

When I was 15, father arranged me to get married to one of the Senate member’s son, Romulus. At first, I was against the marriage but as time goes by, Romulus turns out to be a good and loving husband. And I could not be more grateful. However, a year ago, a few months after my 18th birthday, Romulus passed away. I was not in a right state of mind for a few months after he passed away.

Luckily my brother, Tiberius and Antonia support me up until this day. Now I am back as I were before, with a much more stronger will to be live a free life. Tiberius is my elder brother, mother’s first son with her previous husband. Though he is my half-brother, we are very close. Too bad for him, he had to marry father’s first daughter, Julia. I don’t really favor Julia though she is my half-sister, and my sister-in-law too. She is too outspoken, too free and scandalous. She is free to do her own will, despite father’s disagreement towards her behaviour. She has been scolded and punished tons of times because of her mischievous acts. To be honest, I am jealous of her. I wanted to be like her; she is free. Both physically and spiritually.

Leave a comment