Women in Roman Society.

I was born into this world as a little baby girl. I was brought up by two most beautiful people on earth, my mother and my father. As I grew up, I had come to many different stages of my life, from a small kid playing around freely to a quieter person as I approach my teenager life. Finally here I am, a young lady that got most of everything in her life that she could ever want. All of these different stages of life have brought many changes to my life. I do see the changes in me, I am more aware of my surrounding, I am more mature, and also I have greater responsibility on every action that I take.

 Women in Roman society are not given much power and have no rights to vote. The women in Roman have always been under the guardian of the head of the family. Before they were married, their father was the one who took responsibility over them. Later on, their husband will take the lead. Most of the women here don’t have much freedom. They are also not allowed to join the government.

 The lives of women here are greatly based on their position in society. Women from high societies are fortunate to lead a life of leisure. Most of their works are usually done by servants. Women from the lower class are mostly housewives. They are also an important role in the roman society.

 Women from the high society are always busy with their social life that they barely have the time to educate their children with the basic knowledge of life. Their housework is most of the time done by women from lower class. They also help the upper class women to wash their face and spend hours setting their hair into curls.

 However, women from the lower class have no option but to do everything by themselves. They are in charge of raising their children and also keeping their house in order. The responsibilities that are on them could be very stressful. They have to do the entire house cleaning, cook for the whole family, and also getting all the laundry done. On the other hand, they are also supposed to educate their daughter with all the knowledge that they have, such as cooking, sewing, washing clothes, and cleaning the house. All of this is done with great care and love for the family.

 

Sources :

http://www.roman-empire.net/index.html

http://www.historylink102.com/Rome/roman-women.htm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Women_in_Ancient_Rome

http://www.cornellcollege.edu/classical_studies/comedy/comedy1/images/women.jpg

1 Comment »

  1. Wei Hsien Said:

    This entry shows little research. Anyone could’ve written general comments like this. Did you do your research before writing this? On your way to a C or D.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment