Roman’s Gods and Goddesses.

In my society, we strongly believe in a number of gods and goddesses as we practiced polytheism. Among those number of gods and goddesses, I personally worshipped a few of them; for my own good and for my kingdom.

Bacchus

He is known as the God of Wine. I worshipped Bacchus not because I have a big favor of the drink but because I adored his character of deep thoughtfulness.

Ceres

Ceres is a goddess of vegetation. From what I heard from Antonia, Ceres is an ancient Latin Goddess. Each time I pay my worship to her, I always prayed that she will improve my people’s crops and plants.

Diana

 

Goddess Diana is one of my favourite goddess. She is known among our people as the goddess to unity of peoples. In my father’s weekly praying, he would prayed to Diana several times to ensure the kingdom’s unity among the citizen.

Juno

Goddess Juno is known as the goddess of women. I also learnt that she is also known as Hera in Greek.

Jupiter

In Greek, Jupiter is known as Zeus. He is considered as ‘the father of the Gods’. As he is the most powerful god of all, he is worshipped the most by our people. Even father has built a temple especially for the great Jupiter to show his loyalty.

Lar

Lar, on the other hand, is not a god or goddess. Lar is a spirit’s of our ancestors. A small figurine of Lar would be kept in each houses for safety and guardian. I have one figurine in my room as well, I placed it next to my bed.

Minerva

Minerva is a goddess of arts, industry and workcrafts. I have to say that I do not have any specialty in those fields, but I worshipped Minerva because she is known for her wisdom and intelligence. I always prayed that she will help me in my studies that father had assigned to me.

Mars

Mars is the god of war. He is one of my father’s favourite god. Father will give extra attention of praying time to Mars as he needs Mars blessings to make his army strong and fearful.

Venus

Venus is my favourite goddess of all. She is the god of love and beauty. Once, I had a dream about Venus where she came to me and patted my hair. I feel so blessed, and I believe one day Venus will generously give me her blessings and bless me with new love.

 

Sources:

http://www.roman-empire.net/religion/pantheon.html

http://www.roman-empire.net/diverse/pictures.html

http://gwydir.demon.co.uk/jo/roman/index.htm

http://gwydir.demon.co.uk/jo/roman/venus.htm

Leave a comment